IFMM'10                International Forum on Micro Manufacturing 2010

Gifu, Japan            October 20-23, 2010
 Call for Papers

Updated on October 8 (Final program)

> Aim and Themes

Micro/meso-scale (between macro and micro) manufacturing has been developed in research fields of machining, forming, materials and others, but application to industrial products is not sufficient. The main objective of this forum is to bring together the possibility from academic research and the needs of industries as much as possible. This forum consists of paper sessions, group discussions, a panel discussion and a symposium for matching state-of-the-art technologies and needs. The exhibition of the achievement of industrial products is also planned to encourage the participants to touch concrete shape and function. In addition to seek for practical use, pure scientific approach is welcome in the paper sessions for understanding of various technological fields.

 Topics covered are:

>   Microfactory Concepts and Micro-manufacturing Applications

>   Micromachining

>   Micro forming

>   Micro-EDM and others

>   Materials for Micro manufacturing

>   Tribology and Surface Engineering in Micro manufacturing


> Important Dates

Submission deadline of abstract        February 28, 2010

Abstract deadline is extended to March 24, 2010

Notification of abstract acceptance          March 31, 2010

Submission deadline of full paper             June 30, 2010

Notification of final paper acceptance   August 15, 2010

Final Early Bird Registration               August 31, 2010

Public Final Registration               September 15, 2010


> Call for papers


Template is available from here.

Please send the abstract PDF file to with the title of "IFMM10 Abstract".


Full paper

Please prepare up-to 6 pages full paper in A4 size as a PDF file. Template is available from here.

Please send the full-paper file to with the title of "IFMM10 Full Paper".  



> About publications

Since the copyrights for the papers remain with the authors, the authors are free to also consider submitting their paper either in its original or in extended form to a journal for publication. Possible journals include but are not limited to:

(1) Transactions of ASME: Journal of Manufacturing Science and Engineering (

(2) SME: Journal of Manufacturing Processes  (



> Conference Fees

Category        Before or On August 31  After September 1

Participants                     JPY60,000   JPY70,000

Students                         JPY30,000   JPY40,000

Accompanying Person     JPY20,000   JPY30,000

Participants (Day 3 only)  JPY20,000   JPY30,000


> Registration

Online registration is available from here.

New window will open.

> Accommodation

Hotel reservation is available from here.

New window will open.

1) Choose -Make a Reservation- from red-colored "WEB Reservation".
2) Click on the "Campaign Package" at left-hand side of the new page.
3) Enter account name and password (informed by e-mail) and click on the login.
4) You can choose arrival date, length of stay, etc. and search available rooms.
5) From the list of available rooms, you can make a reservation.

> International Scientific Committee

Jian Cao, Northwestern University, USA

Stefan Dimov, Cardiff University, UK

Kornel Ehmann, Northwestern University, USA

Ulf Engel, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany

Ho-Chung Fu, MIRDC,Taiwan

Y.S.Liao, National Taiwan University, Taiwan

Jian Lu, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, China

Jong-Kweon Park, KIMM, Korea

Mustafizur Rahman, National University of Singapore, Singapore

Reijo Tuokko, Tampere University of Technology, Finland


> International Organizing Committee

Kuniaki Dohda, Nagoya Institute of Technology, Japan (General Chair)
Yuichi Okazaki, AIST, Japan (Co-Chair)
Tojiro Aoyama, Keio University, Japan
Mogens Arentoft, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
Pieter Jan Bolt, TNO Science & Industry, The Netherland
Suman Chakraborty, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, India
Dong-Woo Cho, Pohang University of Science & Technology, Korea
Martin L.Culpepper, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
Atsushi Danno, Singapore IMT, Singapore
Xianghuai Dong, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
Ruxu Du, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, China
Naga Hanumaiah, CMERI, USA
Kenji Hirota, Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan
Kun-Min Huang, Metal Industries R & D Centre, Taiwan
You-Min Huang, National Taiwan University of Science & Technology
Liu Lin, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China
Pham Van Hung, Hanoi University of Technology, Viet Nam
Lee, Sang Jo, Yonsei University, Korea
Suhas S. Joshi, Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay, India
Shiv G. Kapoor, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Matthias Kautt, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
Brad Lee Kinsey, University of New Hampshire, USA
Kazuhiko Kitamura, Nagoya Institute of Technology, Japan
Muammer Koc, Virginia Commonwealth University, USA
Isao Kuboki, Kogakuin University, Japan
Thomas R. Kurfess, Clemson University, USA
Tsunemoto Kuriyagawa, Tohoku University, Japan
Daewoo Lee, Pusan National University, Korea
Steven Y. Liang, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
Marc J. Madou, University of California, USA
Yasuo Marumo, Kumamoto University, Japan
Shinsuke Matsui, NTT Photonics Laboratories, Japan
Takashi Matsumura, Tokyo Denki University, Japan
Chiristopher Matthew, Cardiff University, UK
J. Rhett Mayor, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
Toshihiko Mori, Nagoya University, Japan
Noboru Morita, University of Toyama, Japan
Gracious Ngaile, North Carolina State University, USA
Jun Ni, University of Michigan College of Engineering, USA
Hitoshi Ohmori, RIKEN, Japan
Frank E.Pfefferkorn, University of Wisconsin, USA
Kamlakar Rajurkar, University of Nebraska, USA
N.Venkata Reddy, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, India
Ro, Seung-Kook, Korea Institute of Machinery&Materials, Korea
Yasunori Saotome, Tohoku University, Japan
Shih-Ming Wang, Chung Yuan Christian University, Taiwan
Ming Yang, Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan
Kai-Feng Zhang, Harbin Institute of Technology, China


> IFMM'10 Secretariat

Norio Takatsuji, University of Toyama

Chair of treasurer: Takehiko Makino, Nagoya Institute of Technology

Momoe Maeda, Nagoya Institute of Technology

Terumi Sugiyama, Inter Group Corporation



> Program

Final program (PDF)

Early Day Program - Wednesday 20 October, 2010

>   Registration (start from 18:00)


Day 1 - Thursday 21 October, 2010

>   Registration

>   Opening Ceremony

>   Paper Session


Day 2 - Friday 22 October, 2010

>   Paper Session

>   Round Table Discussion

>   Banquet


Day 3 - Saturday 23 October, 2010

>   Symposium on Micro Manufacturing (Plenary Lectures)

>   Closing Ceremony


Day 1- Day 3

Exhibition of Products